I did it again! Moved from Helsinki to London by train

I’m back in London again for at least 6 months to do an internship! Since I had holiday before my work here started, I had the time to take the train from Helsinki to London again. Scroll down for pictures!

I spent some time in Malmö, a full day in Berlin and a day and a night at my friends place in Amsterdam! Everything went so smooth, the changeover from ferry to train in Stockholm was easy taking less than an hour. My afternoon in Malmö was great and I visited some beautiful gardens. I enjoyed the night train between Malmö and Berlin, sharing my cabin with some really nice people. Seeing a bit more of Berlin was great since I have been there only briefly once before. And seeing my friend in Amsterdam was obviously awesome!

Screenshot 2017-07-12 16.03.54

Pros of taking the train versus flying

  • I got to see awesome cities on the way
  • I had the chance to visit my friend in Amsterdam for a day
  • It is more of an adventure, you meet more new people
  • My carbon footprint from travelling was between 30-60 % lower according to my calculations (one estimate is by this calculator).
Cons of train vs flying
  • Hard to fit in time if you are not on holiday
  • Booking via multiple websites instead of just one
  • Can be more expensive, depending on route

 

 

 

Fil 001 (1)Fil 006Fil 009Tag1Fil 000 (5)Fil 009 (1)

 

Leave a Reply

