Making less waste: a first step

Many of us feel quite bad about the amount of waste we create. Whenever we see some news about it, that little thought appears in our heads: “oh we should do something about it”. But then we go back to how we used to be, because it’s easier. If you do feel you’d personally like to make a change there are two very easy first steps towards a waste-free life. Plastic bags are one of the worst pollutants of nature so…

  1. Start recycling. This will lead to a situation where you won’t be able to use the typical excuse “I need to take a plastic bag because I have to have something to put my trash in”. Everything recyclable has no need for a plastic bag: the glass, cardboard, paper all  goes well into the big recycling bins by pouring them out of a reusable bag.
  2. Stop taking plastic bags in the store, put the things in a tote bag or in your rucksack, handbag or whatever bag you usually carry around. Especially the tiny plastic bags you get in cosmetics stores are very unnecessary, just put the thing in your pocket!

Most people, that I know, have something like 20 plastic bags at home right now. When I’m visiting someones home, I always notice a huge heap of plastic bags stuffed away somewhere. If you recycle fairly alright, those plastic bags should be enough for your bin for the next 6 months. Personally, I’ve estimated that if I exclude my flatmates waste, I use about 15 plastic bags per year for trash. No one needs to keep collecting bin bags when you actually have a storage of bin bags for the next year at home so stop making that excuse, you do not need more plastic bags.

This little re-usable fruit and vegetable bag is great! My mum bought it for me this Christmas and ever since, I always carry it in my bag wherever I go. It’s washable and is the perfect substitute for the small, very harmful plastic fruit/vegetable bags that are provided in Finnish supermarkets. Buy one for yourself today and commit to stop using plastic bags!

This is the first step towards zero waste, a very easy start. My personal zero-waste start was a bit of an extreme crash course. In 2014 I randomly decided I would live for one whole month without using any disposable plastic. This is only 3 years ago, but the zero-waste  lifestyle wasn’t a “thing” back then. Believe me, people around me probably thought I was so weird when I suddenly refused to eat a cookie just because it had been in a plastic wrap!

Nowadays, I’m not that strict and I do buy some amount of things wrapped in plastic. I never take a plastic bag myself at the store, the one’s I use for waste are usually brought to me by someone visiting me, and leaving them behind. I’m a great admirer  of people like Bea Johnson and Lauren Zinger who has really helped making zero-waste a thing. It will take a long time before I’m as great as the two of them, producing only like one glass jar of waste in a couple of years! But if I could already cut my waste to only 10 bags a year in 2017, I would be really proud! Everyone has different life situations and any sort of change always requires a bit of engagement. Once you have excellent habits, like Zinger, it’s not difficult anymore. Therefore, I suggest you start with this little change that doesn’t require too much effort! Plastic bags kill animals everyday, they break down and end up poisoning seafood that we like to eat. Go for reusable bags, skip the plastic.

ekologisk-pase

Leave a Reply

