Instead of eating food from the trash…

…maybe we should stop throwing edible food away? Dumpster diving might be a good way for individuals to get free food, but it’s not going to solve the problem of millions tons of food getting thrown away every year.

I was eating lunch with my friends at uni and one of them complained she was feeling sick because she took too much food but forced herself to eat it. We started a discussion about whether there is a point of eating everything you have on you plate or not. Obviously, if a Finnish girl eats her food or not has absolutely no affect on starvation in most parts of the world. However, I think my friend has a really good principle of eating everything. If you always eat everything you learn more easily how much food to actually take, and in this way food consumption could actually decrease. What’s the point of paying for throwing food in the trash, when you could just buy less and throw nothing away?

This week there is a campaign going on in Helsinki against food waste. Tomorrow at 10:30 you can get a free lunch prepared from food that supermarkets would have thrown away otherwise. Don’t worry, it’s truly safe because a lot of the thrown away food is actually perfectly edible.

My advice to anyone trying to decrease their food waste: plan your meals according to what you have in your fridge. Last week I had a few onions that started turning brown in my fridge, so I planned my dinner according to them. After peeling them they looked perfectly good and became a nice addition in an omelet. Every little leftover can become part of something new if you just plan accordingly!

I recommend watching this video, it gives me a good motivation for decreasing my food waste šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

