As locally produced as it gets

DSC_2409 (1)After four months of watering I have finally gotten my yield! I have succeeded to grow some really good tomatoes, some really spicy chili as well as both mint and basil.

I really recommend growing herbs and other edible plants on your windowsill, it looks pretty when it’s green and it’s amazing when you can pick your own food inside your apartment. I am so happy that my little window farm succeeded! If I only had more room I could grow even more things but I think that will have to wait until I live in a house and not a small apartment. My plants will continue to grow at least as long as the sun is shining a lot.

I have been thinking about buying UV-lamps for the plants to continue to grow in the winter-darkness, but I decided that things are meant to grow in the summer. My little hobby is not important enough to be worth using the extra energy (and fossil fuels) on.

When I first started and put the little seeds in their pots, I thought it would be hard to keep them alive. With time I discovered that long as you remember to water the plants about 3 times per week it’s hard to fail! The watering has taken about 3 minutes per time so it’s not a lot of work, and my dear flatmate has been lovely to help me with the watering whenever I have not been at home.This window-farm will definitely be growing again next spring and summer, I got myself a lovely new hobby!

DSC_2408 (1)

DSC_2406 (1)_20150824_180242

Leave a Reply

