Things don’t get better if people don’t care

These soon'to-be tomatoes need to be transported about 1 meter to get to my dining table. Much better.

These soon’to-be tomatoes need to be transported about 1 meter to get to my dining table. Much better.

I have wondered many times why there is no product labeling or certification to ensure something hasn’t been transported by flight. I’m trying to avoid to fly myself so avoiding to buy things that have been transported by planes makes sense.

I just got an answer to that question when studying for my exam in Supply chain management and Corporate Social Responsibility.

There has been experiments where products, especially groceries, have been labelled with a little airplane. But you know what chocked me? People started to buy the products more because they wanted fresh products! So they stopped labeling the products.

That just shows how little people care. The damn consistence of the tomatoes seem to matter more than our whole planet. But hey, fresh tomatoes!

Why take the ones that came by plane?  I prefer growing my own.

Leave a Reply

