We just ignored them. It didn’t help.

Me and some other students organised a debate for candidates running for parliament. We invited young candidates from all major parties. Except,we did not invite the True Finn-party. Why? Because the theme my team prepared for the debate was environmental politics. And we thought the True Finns politics on this topic was ridiculous.

The True Finns is in fact the only party that doesn’t have a program for supporting more renewable energy in Finland. They think that the environment is the least of our problems. When we prepared for the debate me and my team actually laughed about the environmental politics of the True Finns,we just couldn’t take their view on the matter seriously.

The True Finns just stand for everything I don’t. The list is very long but I’ll focus on the sustainability part now. Talking about their immigration policy, their gay rights policy or their view on the Swedish speaking minority I belong to would result in a too long post. I think there are many matters equally important but nothing is as long term as the environment. It’s just something that concerns all of us, and especially us young people  who are sticking around on this planet for a while longer.

I think that a good environment for humans and all living creatures is the basic thing that just needs to be taken care of. I want to be sure that the planet where I live is nice in the future too. But I still regret not inviting them to the debate. I should have taken the opportunity to confront them about their environmental politics.

Closing your eyes and turn a deaf ear is not going to make anything better. Next time I’ll try to be better at listening to the opinions I don’t like too. That’s by the way something all of us probably should become better at. It doesn’t help ignoring the second biggest party in Finland just because I think their opinions are stupid.The True Finns might be in our next government whether I like it or not.

I'm disappointed in Finland because of the elections. But it's still my country and I love it. So here is a picture from the Easter in the Finnish Lapland. Sorry for ruining the beautiful landscape :D

I’m disappointed in Finland because of the elections. But it’s still my country and I love it. So here is a picture from the Easter in the Finnish Lapland. Sorry for ruining the beautiful landscape 😀

The algae problems in the Baltic Sea is by the way something I'd appreciate if the politicians could do more about... Picture from last summer when you really couldn't swim.

The algae problems in the Baltic Sea is by the way something I’d appreciate if the politicians could do more about… Picture from last summer when you really couldn’t swim.

Leave a Reply

