Cross-country or alpine skiing?

Hi again, as it’s holiday I seem to have time to update the blog more than ever! Usually I have time only on Sundays but I hope that as most of you are on holiday as well you will even have time to read what I’m writing 😀

I know it’s April and the skiing season is almost over but I just came back from Lapland where it’s still full winter.I went cross-country skiing for two days and alpine skiing for one day. I do love the speed of alpine skiing and the beautiful views from the top of a mountain but the older I get the more I appreciate good old-fashioned cross-country skiing.

So what’s better about cross-country skiing? It improves your fitness more. In the ski slopes you spend half of the time in a ski-lift doing nothing at all. Not to talk about all the queuing to get to those lifts. In cross-country skiing you move only with your own energy, but in alpine skiing you need electricity for the lifts.

So I have been thinking, in my opinion it’s clear that we should use less energy in order not to boost the climate change. But where should we save, should we stop using cars that many people actually need to i.e. get to work, or should we maybe re-consider our hobbies and use less ski-lifts?

Enjoying the calmness of cross-country skiing on a frozen lake

Enjoying the calmness of cross-country skiing on a frozen lake

Father and little-sister in the slope.

Father and little-sister in the slope.

Leave a Reply

